Exmouth

gawa13

Well I thought i’d continue on with the beach theme as I can’t wait to actually get some free time and get there myself!! This is another image from my Pilbara trip, and was taken at one of the beaches along the West side of the Exmouth Cape. I can’t remember what one exactly, but I think it was either side of Lakeside.

Looking out over the Ningaloo Reef, it is a breathtaking bit of coastline. The sand is flawless, and the water is such a fantastic blue. I didn’t have much luck with the standard beach scenes, so i tried something a bit different.

There were some small dunes right near the water so I headed into them hoping to find some nice ridges. It was a bit late in the day to get heavily contrasting ridges in the sand (a type of image I really want to get one day) but I ended up coming across this scene. I liked the small ridges following up the dune to the water. And using the plants as some natural framing to keep the scene compact. Would love to be there again! It was my first time really shooting beaches like this, and since then I have had so many ideas and compositions I want to try next time.

I’m still a bit undecided on this, so interested in peoples thoughts, And also would like to have any suggestions for what I could have done. Thanks πŸ™‚

You can view more of my Ningaloo posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a Ningaloo image please visit my site

3 responses to “Exmouth

  1. I would do without the plants mate and create a simpler vertical composition, slightly abstract, with just 3 elements – sky, water, sand – creating beautiful foreground, middleground and background.

    If you shoot vertical just between the plants and get down very low to the sand you get these very strong leading lines right into the photo. Bet that’ll be a stunner!

  2. thanks Flem.
    yeah i was really unsure, even at the time as to what I wanted. knew I wanted something….but just couldn’t quite get it. i usually try different things in that situation and usually would try vertical. but on this occasion i didn’t, but probably should have.

    got some more ideas for next time i’m at beaches like this so will try them out. hopefully then will get something i know i like right from the start! πŸ™‚

  3. i’m a bit of sucker for dunes and the light they can catch – like Flem says it might have been worth getting low to enhance the ridges. also B&W conversions can make the unspoilt ripples really stand out. there’s always next time, right?!

Leave a Reply

