West Cape Howe

This is the second of my images I got from my trip down South with mates earlier this year. We were staying at the Stirling Ranges and went into Albany for what has become out traditional “Macca’s Run”. 2 hours of driving for some unhealthy food… 😛 We usually do a few things other then that too, and on this occasion I took them to West Cape Howe. About half an hour West of Albany.

I’ve been there a few times, and it’s a great area with sand tracks leading out to secluded beaches. We were running pretty late to get anywhere in time. And I ended up deciding to turn down a track i’d not actually been down before. With light fading rapidly we ended up at this beach.

West Cape Sunset

West Cape Sunset

The rocks in the region are quite stunning, and provide you with many composition opportunities. In this image I thought the big rock provided some nice foreground interest. And then the overall feel of the scene nearly comes across as metallic. With some unusual colours picked up with the long exposure. It was nearly too dark to see so was about 15 min after sunset from memory. It is also one of only a couple that don’t have some silly kids (my mates) running through the scene. Got some nice one’s, then I look closer… and then I swear!! 😛

This image I feel is much better, but i’ve already posted it a few times already. It did have some success in competitions in the past so was briefly covered in those posts.

Rocky Dreams

Rocky Dreams

What’s one more time hey 🙂

You can view more of my South West posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a South West image please visit my site

7 responses to “West Cape Howe

  1. Great colours, Stephen! I prefer the composition of the first photo over the second and the clouds and reflections are nicer too.

    Cheers

  2. thanks Beau,it’s been a while. you seemed to have vanished for a bit there. from what i saw on Flickr you’ve been covering a bit of ground!

    yeah it’s crazy what colours the long exposures pick up some days.

    i think you’re the first person who prefers that image too! 🙂

  3. It looks like a great spot Stephen !

    Sounds like a fun and interesting place for further exploration…

    Have a great christmas and NY mate !

    cheers,
    t

  4. yeah it is Tony. and yes, i do want to spend more time exploring properly.
    there are some pretty stunning beaches down that way tucked away for us 4wds, just need to get there before they get tourist roads put in to them all haha

    yeah all the best to you too!! 🙂

  5. Yeah, mate. I let my old domain expire and just purchased this new one about a month ago. I’ve been all over the place the last few months but unfortunately didn’t capitalized on it photography wise. I only got a few shots that I really like.

    Merry Christmas!

  6. Anne-Marie McCarthy

    Great atmospheric photos Stephen, particularly the second shot. Just beautiful. Have a great Christmas! 🙂

  7. oh well, at least you know what places to revisit now. you have a good xmas too!

    thanks Anne-Marie! I hope you have a great xmas too.

    i did plan to get a great ozzie xmas scene (well for me it sums up this time of year) to post.
    but didn’t manage the shot. hopefully will get it over the next few days so i’ll be nice and early for next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

