Greens Pool-Denmark

Well any trip along the south coast of Western Australia wouldn’t be complete without a visit to Denmark, and especially Greens Pool. It is some of the most beautiful coastline, and I could easily have spent a week there. With the weather we had after here I wondered this even more. Hopefully i’ll be spending a couple of days again here in the near future!

Basically my whole trip was full of bad light, with only 3 out of 10 days giving me anything to use. Luckily for me, even though it wasn’t a fantastic sunset as such, there was some nice light for me to use. I’m forever asked how that is possible, as most people relate a good sunset as good light. But anyone who takes photos at these times, especially longer exposures will know that some days the light is just flat. And there’s really nothing you can do about it.

Scouting the rocks really was hard, as there was so many compositions I liked. I saw this crack filled with water early on, but as it wasn’t quite ready I shot different spots. They didn’t work out too well and about 20 min after sunset with hardly any light I thought i’d better get here before it was too late. I’m glad I did!

Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon

The crack was such a nice lead in, and the soft glow on the rocks on the left were begging to be photographed. The waves spilling over the rocks in the middle of the scene really appealed to me. The sky was pretty plain but shooting directly South gives the sky the fade through to the blue which I love so much. It ended up being one of my favorite shot’s from the trip.

dewa08

Then as we left from here was where I took my sunset shot. i did cover this briefly in my Canning Show post before. So I won’t bore you with that again šŸ™‚

You can view more of my South West posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a South West image please visit my site

12 responses to “Greens Pool-Denmark

  1. Great shots Stephen, I love the Blue Lagoon foreground. A very nice composition.

  2. Wonderful sift tones and hues Stepehen – I too love the light on the rock in the bottom left. Well done !

  3. thanks guys, i loved it there. šŸ™‚

  4. Really Like the Second one Stephen!

  5. thanks Will, it’s one i’m glad I got. i very nearly missed it actually… :-/

  6. nice shots again Stephen would have to agree with thomas like theblue lagon shot best

  7. hey Kirk, Thanks! šŸ™‚

  8. mate that blue lagoon shot is wicked… greens pool is great ey, i was only there for about an hour i wish i had more time

  9. yeah it’s a pretty awesome spot that’s for sure! could spend a few days there easily

  10. Hi Stephen.

    Excellent images from this trip!
    I especially like Blue Lagoon for it`s soft foreground curves and beautiful dark, pastel tones..very nice image indeed!
    As I am based in Norway, this scenery really reminds me of southern norwegian coastlines where the rocks are formed by ice-age meltdown 11 000 years ago.

    Great work…looking forward to see more images from you, Stephen.

    You might want to take a look at norwegian wilderness images at my site.
    You`re welcome to tell me what you think.

    Regards
    Seung Kye Lee
    Web: http://www.leeseungkye.com
    Blog: http://www.seungkyelee.wordpress.com

  11. Very professional shots. It seems you admire much the beauty of nature also.

    • hi Nuje

      thanks very much, not sure about professional, but i’m glad you liked them šŸ™‚

      stay tuned, i’m out and about at the moment gathering up a few new images, so hopefully you’ll like them just the same! šŸ™‚

      and yes- i’m at home when i’m out amongst it that’s for sure! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

