Shelley Cove-Dunsborough

This is another shot from my trip down South in October last year. Despite seeing many photographs from this region I’d never actually been there myself. So when we rolled into Dunsborough I really did not know what to expect.All I knew is that I was going to be hard pressed to get something I liked… As many of my favourite photographers have extensively done this area to such a high level.

Obviously the main man being Christian Fletcher, someone who’s work has amazed and inspired me for so long now. And then in recent years Neal (Spool Photography) and Kirk, who’s work continues to amaze as well. And then countless others who have shot that area as well!! But with the absolute beauty of that area it is not hard to see why so many photographers have!

This was the last night of the trip, and after a visit to Christian’s main gallery, which was as inspiring as it was intimidating 😛 You can’t help realise the shots you take are going to look poor compared to his. But at the same time, makes you want to get out there and try and get you own stunning bit of coastline! 🙂

Rinbow Coast

Rainbow Coast

We ended up at Shelley Cove, a wonderful little beach near Meelup. As soon as we turned up I took a liking to these trees on the hill. But just couldn’t find a composition I liked. So giving up for the time being I took some other compositions that had the right conditions. I looked up just as this rainbow appeared, right above the trees I loved. Sometimes nature chooses the composition for us! 🙂

Quickly fighting against time before it disappeared, I rushed to this spot, quickly set up and took a couple of shots just before it vanished. At first I was disappointed, as the rainbow wasn’t as strong as I would have liked. But it’s really starting to grow on me now. It really was in the nick of time 🙂

You can view more of my South West posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a South West image please visit my site

12 responses to “Shelley Cove-Dunsborough

  1. Great capture, Stephen. The rainbow is a nice addition to this gorgeous scene.

  2. Stephen, that is a wonderful shot I really like it. It may look slightly flat but if you just adjusted levels in Photoshop to set the white and dark point and otherwise left it as is it’s pretty perfect!

  3. nice shot mate , nice timining on the rainbow as well adds a nice touch to the image

  4. thanks Beau and Kirk, was pretty lucky. i’m glad it appeared there, nicely in position for the trees.

    Thanks Flem! glad i got one you like 🙂
    i’ll try and get the curves a bit better. i usually adjust slightly with that but still not good at getting each image the right way. some end up ok but then others i don’t quite get it.

  5. Mate this is a great shot….. like everyone is saying, the rainbow is a perfect addition to the shot!!

  6. don’t you just love when things like this appear?! even a bit of gentle selective saturation could bring it out a bit more. nice one Stephen

  7. thanks guys.
    yeah nothing better then when it all comes together 🙂

  8. Nice capture Stephen and thanks for the kind words as flem has said I would look at the blacks in the image to see if they can be pushed a little to make the image pop a little more.

  9. Very nice… you got to love when a rainbow pops out into your shot. The colours are great. Looks like Bunker Bay ??

  10. thanks Matt.
    yeah it sure can top off a image! 🙂

    it’s Shelley Cove. the tree’s are on the bit of land in between Bunker bay and this cove though.
    that’s why they would look very familiar.
    they’re pretty distinctive tree’s i think!

  11. Checking up your pictures I started wondering where do you live.. In heaven? Such a beauty!! Amazing shoots! Great blog!
    ViktoryiaN

  12. I live in Perth, Western Australia.
    And yes it is our piece of Heaven 🙂

    We are lucky to have so many diverse landscapes so close. Alot of them are not well known either, so sometimes you basically have the place to yourself!

Leave a Reply

