More from Shelley Cove-Dunsborough

Sorry it’s been a while! I’ve been quite busy, and will be for the next month. And I’ve not had any chances to get out shooting for quite some time either.

It’s been killing me lately as there has been some awesome light finally!! So here’s back to another couple of shots from late last year, still a few more to come from this trip as well when I get some time.

As the afternoon light quickly disappeared I shot a few more compositions from the lovely little cove. We basically had it to ourselves the entire time. Apart from the whales breaching a few hundred meters out. How can you top that!?

duwa16

Gnarly Cove

Alysia entertained herself watching the whales, and I clambered up the hill a bit to try and use this tree in a shot. It’s wicked branches provided some nice interest, and also helped control the exposure by holding out the harsher light in the top right. I really like the Gnarly fingers of the limbs reaching into the heart of the cove. I would have liked to include the entire shoreline on the left, but there was a stinking great big mess of seaweed all along it! You can’t have it all i spose πŸ˜›

Water on Mars

Water on Mars

The second shot here is a bit different. There was some nice red Lichen on these rocks I quite liked the look of. So using them in the foreground I warmed it up with the white balance, and combined with the long exposure came up with an unusual effect. I reckon it looks like Mars anyway πŸ™‚

You can view more of my South West posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a South West image please visit my site

8 responses to “More from Shelley Cove-Dunsborough

  1. trees like in Gnarly Cove can add so much character, nice work Stephen

  2. Great work Stephen, nice to see you posting again! First image is nice, a little busy for me although I see what you mean with the fingers of the tree.

    Second one I love, could be the cover of Blue Mars in the brilliant Red, Green and Blue Mars scifi novel series. Colours and those rocks are just great!

  3. Hi Stephen,

    I love the second photo as well. Those reds just fire right up on the right light and you managed to capture them well. Well done.

    Jamie Paterson

  4. thanks guys. πŸ™‚

    thanks Flem, I wish the first had a decent focus point too. but just loved those branches so couldn’t help myself πŸ™‚

    i was happy with the second too. it’s quite different to what I usually come up with, the shots with the cooler white balance didn’t have the same effect with the shot.

  5. Love the top one of gnarly cove. It looks like it would suit a b&w process as well

  6. Nice work Stephen I like the first one best, If I had to pick anything it would be the branches touching the top of the hill, still a great composition.

  7. Hi Stephen.

    Incorporating the Gnarly fingers πŸ˜‰ really adds nice depth and mood to that image.
    And Water On Mars has a really nice warm overall tone that comes perfectly together with the coastal scene.

    Beautiful images…thanks for sharing.

    Regards
    Seung Kye Lee
    Web: http://www.leeseungkye.com
    Blog: http://www.seungkyelee.wordpress.com

  8. thanks Charlene, b/w’s are something i really want to try and work on. and i think you’re right on this one and it would work for it.
    the converting is something i’m not very strong on at this point, each time is improving and getting closer to what i’m after though. one day i’ll get it right and will post for you πŸ™‚

    thanks Will!

    thanks for dropping by Seung πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

