Yallingup Sunrise

Rockpool Sunrise

Rockpool Sunrise

After a couple of days of pretty ordinary weather down at Yallingup. I was very tempted to not even get up early on this morning. But forcing myself out of a nice warm bed (as by this stage we were bunked up in the cabin) I went down to the beach. It was after-all the last day down there, and I wouldn’t get opportunities like this back home.

After it all, I was very glad I went down there. It ended up being quite a stunning sunrise. I captured this image just as the light started turning, and it got even better πŸ™‚

Using the polaring lens to cut through the reflections I saw into the heart of this beautiful rockpool. I really like the colours throughout the pool, and managed an interesting sky for once on the trip.

You can view more of my South West posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a South West image please visit my site

15 responses to “Yallingup Sunrise

  1. I’m going to agree with ya and say that the colours in the rock pool are pretty nice… Worth the early morning struggle in the end, I’d say :p

  2. Reflections and colours in the pool are lovely ! You could brighten the whole foreground some as the image is a bit dark, also is that horizon straight??? πŸ˜€

  3. Nice shot Stephen πŸ™‚

    I have to agree with Flemming though, sky looks great but the rocks and water could do with a bit more bling.

    And watch out for those horizons or Flemming will have you publically flogged …

  4. damn it!! he got me on one!! that’s one thing i actually usually do well at… usually the only technical part i get right! πŸ˜›

    yeah was worth it Beau, it’s the usual thing where once you’re out there it’s worth it. when your foot hits the cold floor for the first time it’s not! haha

    thanks Flem and Dave, thanks for popping by Dave πŸ™‚

  5. Wow, I am loving your rock pool photos. Found your blog via William O’s. Great stuff!

  6. hi Wendy.
    thanks, i’m glad you like them! πŸ™‚

  7. nice composition Stephen and good choice in using the polariser. Just need to have a word to those seaguls shitting on the rocks.

  8. thanks Sean and Luke.

    haha yeah you’re right- those bloody birds!
    i had another composition i liked but was completely wrecked by the crap on the rocks!

  9. nice shot mate , love the colors and the reflections

  10. Nice shot Stephen, Like the rock pool in the foreground, sweet coloured sky too! where do you stay when down in Yallingup? Im over these day trips I do haha.

  11. thanks Kirk!

    haha i don’t blame ya Will! that’s crazy in one day!
    i’ve actually only been there once… and that time we stayed at the caravan park across the road from the beach. i only ever camp though- wherever I go. so not sure if that’s for you?

    but they do also have cabins there which were nice on our last night there after the tent blew in on us.
    was crazy wind. constant 30kn, gusts higher!!

  12. haha nice, Yeah I got all camping gear for when I camped down stirling ranges at christmas time, guess its the best way to be near where your shooting! did you have problems with mosquitos? was heaps once there was a little bit of light when I was there.

  13. God you gotta love these beaches!
    Great shot! Cant wait to be back down there!

  14. thanks Dylan.
    yeah it’s awesome down there!

Leave a Reply

