Bibra Lakes

Well with a complete dry patch with about 3 months of not even taking a photo I thought it was time to do something about it. So with some clouds around (around March i think it was) and finally having some spare time I headed out to the lakes. I drive past these a couple of times a week as they’re on the way to where I play basketball, and have always wanted to get in to see what they’re like in person. I love how we can have these magical locations that appear to be so isolated, yet they’re in the middle of suburbia.

The Procession

The Procession

I was struggling to find a composition I completelyย  liked as all of these elements were in such close proximity to each other, and could very easily over crowd the image. There was no real way to utilize just one. I was tempted to lose the shoes and wander out into the water. But seeing the sludge on the bottom I thought best not to. I also like my feet glass and syringe free. In the end I gave this angle a go, and feel the elements are a bit more in balance. Combining with a nifty sky and some nice light from the sunset casting across the water.

7 responses to “Bibra Lakes

  1. Tony Middleton

    hi Stephen,
    I love the light on the old tree in the left of frame and also the old fence line disappearing into the distance and water…but I feel the composition of the fence draws my eye out of the frame rather than in it..Perhaps shot from a little to the left next time ? But in saying this I too have been in a similar situation and not been sure on how to compose a particular shot with there being likeable elements and it not been til later on and looking through my work realising how I could have improved my work.

    cheers,

    • hey Tony.
      good to hear from ya ๐Ÿ™‚

      yeah i know what you mean about the fence leading out.
      that was one of the things i was really struggling with. when I was further to the left, the foreground elements really didn’t seem to be positioned nicely.
      but then the fence line was much better!

      i really did want the tree by itself. as you said the light on it was stunning.

      thanks for the comment, and thanks for adding your thoughts even more so! that’s what i’m after.
      these are only about 15min away so i plan to shoot them more as i feel there’s a special image to be had there. i may even drag the log round to another place… ๐Ÿ˜‰ no one has to know haha

  2. if it’s minimalism and a striking impact you’re after, then i believe concentrate on one of those elements alone. and just like you say, drag the log to a better position (just remember to cover the tracks!). you’ve caught an awesome sky in this one, a lot of variant textures and shades – i hope it returns for your next attempt Stephen

    • thanks Cain.

      yeah it’s one of those things that with the sky and light the way it was I had to get a image.
      there was really nothing much else to work with. and then all this together, any of which could have been used nicely by itself! ๐Ÿ˜›

      but i definitely intend on getting back, and would be happy with light like this to go!

  3. I think that’s the nicest I’ve ever seen Bibra Lake looking. Have to agree that the foreground is a bit busy, but hey, there’s always next time like you said ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • thanks Beau.
      it’s not actually Bibra lake- it’s one of the smaller one’s near by. hidden in behind the tree’s.
      just couldn’t work out a name- too lazy to search as deep as i should ๐Ÿ™‚

      and yes, will definitely be revisiting and hoping for some nice sky again!

  4. I’d like to see a pano of that , I think that would fix the dilemma of the composition in my mind.

Leave a Reply

