Technicolour Sunset

Sorry about being so slack on the blog front again. I still hope to be able to get a regular post on here one day. With the bit of time i’ll be in front of the TV over the next few weeks- of course watching the Aussies smash the Poms in the ASHES, I will try to throw together a few posts as well, and they all say I can’t multitask 🙂

Here’s another image from Karridale, just North of Augusta. We stayed at the cottages for a few nights over Easter. I thought i’d give a windmill image a go as it’s something different. As per usual early on this year- there wasn’t a cloud in sight, so I didn’t have high hopes for this evening. Once again, as it has done a few times for me this year- the haze came to the rescue. As the sun went down the sky came up with fabulous colour.

Technicolour Sunset

Technicolour Sunset

I really like how the water illuminates, also how the reeds, reflection and waterline all lead to the windmill. The touch of green grass I felt broke up the colours a bit more as well.

Thanks 🙂

You can view more of my South West posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a South West image, please visit mt site

10 responses to “Technicolour Sunset

  1. cherokeebydesign
  2. Gorgeous colours, nice contrast with the red purple sky and the blue water. There a few things that irritates my eye though, first up is that big black hose! Somehow that hose really has to die by cloning 🙂

    I think I would prefer this without the foreground as well, although many will probably disagree with me. I would have stood in the water basically and made a real simply reflection image where the image had no “borders” meaning no foreground etc so the viewer cannot see where you are standing cannot see the size of the water.

    • thanks Flem 🙂
      yeah it’s not a good hose is it.
      thanks for the idea, i’ll keep that in mind for future.

      i didn’t give that a try this time.
      i do have a vertical image, which I think is a stronger composition, but the colours aren’t as striking as this one.

      p.s, how lame are these new smiley things… bring back the old one’s wordpress!!! lol

  3. Tony Middleton

    Hi Stephen,
    The contrast between the pink twilight sky (from lower on the horizon) and the blueish reflected sky from overhead is the intriguing interest in the image. I too would prefer it without the foreground grasses etc as Flem noted above.
    GO AUSSIES !

    • thanks Tony
      wish i had’ve tried a angle without the grasses.

      i wish i was still as confident now, about the cricket as i was when I wrote this! how we lost that I don’t know! i know it was a draw- but from the position we were in it’s as good as a loss 😦

      hopefully Lords has more success! 🙂

  4. Yes you have been slack on your blog haha, Nice sky in this shot Stephen.

  5. The windmill really makes the photo. The color isn’t bad either.

Leave a Reply

