More from an unforgetable morning on Bluff Knoll

Well here’s a couple more images showing the extent of the clouds that had formed on the South side of the peaks. It’s incredible that under this- the people were experiencing a drizzly, wet, miserable day. Meanwhile I was beaming from ear to ear! Despite knowing at the time I was still struggling to capture the scene in all it’s glory due to the enormous contrasts- I was still having a ball! πŸ™‚

A rock and a soft place

A rock and a soft place

I quite like this shot, looking nearly directly South, from just around the saddle between Coyanerup and Bluff Knoll. It was my first proper look at what was in that direction and it’s amazing the energy boost you get when you know you have something like this to work with! I was a fair bit later then i’d intended- with my trip to the carpark half an hour before I finally set off, then upon commencement- I realised i’d left my headlamp back at camp. So proceeded to go back to get it. Silly for not thinking that by the time I get to where i’d need it along the track, the light would be bright enough for me anyway. Sometimes the brain just does not work at it’s prime at half 4 in the morning lol.

Heading up, at what is a much slower and painful pace then i’m used to. I was really worrying that I was going to miss the clouds for a fair bit of the climb! And having to take a good dozen breaks- instead of the usual 3 didn’t help the cause! But after being injured and not playing sport/running for a good 6 weeks i’d lost a fair bit of my fitness. So resigned to the fact I was only going to be able to plug along….. Luckily the clouds hung around for a long time.

Updraughts

Up-draughts

The second image here is also looking South. The up-draughts were picking up the cloud in the foreground which I found pretty cool to see.

You can view more of my Stirling Ranges posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a Stirling Ranges image, please visit my site

10 responses to “More from an unforgetable morning on Bluff Knoll

  1. wow….. well its looks like ur doing it tough here!!!
    i think its time i went there!!!

    • thanks Clint- yeah, i don’t think I need to say how I feel about this place again πŸ˜›
      every west australian should get there- it should be compulsory! just as long as i’m not there at the time hehe

  2. Spectacular Stephen, like a sea of clouds!

  3. Really looks like your on top of the world Stephen. The cloud really works a treat! Well captured mate!
    Dave

    • thanks Dave- it’s pretty incredible to witness that’s for sure. took a few go’s to get something half decent but wouldn’t mind having another go at cloud like this in the future. a few more things in my mind as to how i’d like to capture it πŸ™‚

  4. very nice Stephen! must have been nice to see in person!

  5. Hi Stephen,

    I love this shot. Its the sort of shot I’d like to capture one day. In fact I’ve made it a personal goal to get fit enough to be able to climb up to the top of the Bluff.

    • that’s an easy task Jamie- make it your goal to get out along the ridge ok. that is even more amazing along there! and, a lot more fitness required, so you’ll have even more fun with it too πŸ™‚

      i’m glad you like the images, and hope you do get to the summit of Bluff Knoll. you’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

