The Perfect Australian Beach

Here’s a photo I took at what has to be one of the most beautiful beach i’ve ever been to. It’s Little Beach- found in the Two Peoples Bay National Park. Two Peoples Bay is located about 30min East of Albany, and is home to a number of rare and endangered animals including the Noisy Scrub Bird, and the Gilberts Potoroo- both of which were declared as extinct for a number of years until being re-discovered in this pocket of bushland.

Little Beach

The day I was here was quite overcast and windy- both of which don’t make it easy to get a nice beach image. But waiting patiently for the sun to come out proved rewarding. The blue’s of this water are unbelievable under the bright sun- and when you look into a wave it’s as close to clear glass as you could imagine. Next task was to wait patiently once more for a nice breaking wave to come through- which was near impossible to line up with the sun being out haha, so after about half an hour both combined.

We’re pretty spoilt with the beaches we have here in WA that’s for sure!

I definitely look forward to returning to this beach sometime- with a few idea’s for some images i’d like to get πŸ™‚

You can view more of my South West Coast posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a South West image, please visit my site

16 responses to “The Perfect Australian Beach

  1. Wauv, looks like a gorgeous spot – this is the ‘secret’ beach ??? If so, not so secret anymore πŸ™‚

    I like your image however I do not feel that the horizon in the middle here is perhaps the best composition. I think the water is the best part here, so perhaps walk closer to the two rocks and get them in the extreme foreground and tilt the camera down.

    • thanks Flem- yeah I need to get there again and try a few better angles I wasn’t able to get when i was there. so better to come πŸ™‚ i agree with more water with this image.

      and yup- this is your little taster haha
      it’s not secret as such- even though not a lot of people know about it… but definitely a beautiful place!

  2. “We’re pretty spoilt with the beaches we have here in WA that’s for sure!”

    I’ll second that.

    Good to know you’re still wandering around in the wilds πŸ˜‰ And damn look at that water…

    • yup sure are.
      and then to top it off we have the mountains… and then the desserts… and during the summer those beautiful beaches are covered in bikini clad ladies… ah we have it all πŸ˜‰

      and the water is even better in person, believe me on that one! well worth a trip next time you’re down that way Charlene!

  3. I like the composition, even though Bo is also correct. Sky and sea are stunning, that aqua is amazing.

  4. Every time I go to Albany I always find myself back at this spot. Wouldn’t it be great if it was indeed a secret. Still not too many people go there I guess! Nice shot.
    Great to meet you yesterday!

    Dave

    • yeah that’s the best thing about WA- some of our best places are still quite unknown. you gota do a bit of research and then time it right and you can get the places to yourself πŸ™‚

      great to meet you too man

  5. A nice pair of new images you have posted Stephen … Looking forward to seeing more …. 2010, the year we hit WA HARD!

  6. Gorgeous and inviting Stephen – It certainly is a beautiful coastline and to the east of there. mmm… πŸ™‚

  7. Wow!! I have heard about this beach from my friends but I could not go there. But now I can not stop me to go there. You have find a great place.

  8. wonderful colours in this Stephen – the turquoise is obviously attractive, but the greens of the trees on the hills is super-realistic (something, if not done right, irks me with digital landscapes). you can tell you’ve been waiting for the right moment with the glassed wave lining up. unlike Flemming, I like your current view because of its bold elements but my only criticism would be that it’s a little sky heavy.

    • thanks very much Cain. and yeah- definitely waited a while haha. glad that comes through in the image, the hill was tough as well in the whole scene as quite often there’d be a great big cloud shadow plonked in the middle of that as well, which killed the image in my opinion. so i’m glad you liked it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

