The Holland Track- oh what a night

Well what better way to get the photography juices flowing again, and a bit more encouragement to get the blog going again- then getting out amongst it and take some photos! πŸ™‚ I usually wouldn’t post an image immediately, but with something like this I can’t help it!

Thunderstruck

I’ve just got back from a 4 day trip along the Holland track in the Goldfields for Easter. My first time out there, and wow- did it put on a show for us! 4 days of 4wd and camping through some amazing area’s, topped off by some insane thunderstorms. This is my first attempt at lightning, and especially after missing out on “The great storm 2010”Β  that hit Perth a week or so ago I was pretty keen to give it a go. This is from our first night camp, just pulled along off the track as we missed our intended campsite. So pure luck I spose that this is the result πŸ™‚ Also if we camped where we were planning weΒ  would have been flooded out as the rain was intense a kilometer or so either side of us! So no flood, and lightning=massive win!

The lightning was everywhere as the storm rose up, intensified time and time again in front of us. So I ran up the hill to get a better angle, forgot my shutter cable, ran back and forth again. All was worth while and I was up there in time. Now even though this image is instantly captivating- it was probably one of the least challenging to set up the shot as nature really does the hard work for you in this situation. I was just fotunate to be in the right place, and got the right angle. But i’m pretty wrapped to have got the image all the same, so it’s a weird feeling for me haha.

I must say that when the thunder got directly overhead that my pace back to camp quickened haha. This area only had waist high vegetation (meaning I was a good 3 feet higher then it) as itΒ  had been hit severly by the fires that went through the area a few years ago- unfortunately resulting in the deaths of 3 truck drivers. Which seeing the burnt area is very scary, as you can get a much more accurate view of the utter devastation. The fire front was huge and I couldn’t imagine the fear of the drivers as they saw it coming across the plains towards them.

Well I hope you all like this- I mean LOVE this, as much as I do. Otherwise I’ll feel kinda silly haha πŸ˜›

And there’s a few more images from the trip to follow

At very least I reckon it’ll interest Tony- so just make sure you give me a comment Tone lol. The storms were incredible, and I see why you head North every wet season. It was the first time I’ve seen anything like it!!

Just like to put it out there that my emails broken down- can’t seem to get into them lately (for over a week now) and still can’t access it. So i’m not ignoring anyone, just can’t do much right at the moment. Hopefully will be back up before I head away again so I can get back to the couple of you expecting to hear from me. Thanks, Stephen

36 responses to “The Holland Track- oh what a night

  1. You have every right to like this one, I do, there’s a real energy to this photo.

  2. Now that is what I call commitment and excitement
    Great Image

  3. Oh dear. That is just amazing Stephen!!!!!! Love it! The drama, the light, the colours, the story – brilliant πŸ™‚

  4. amazingly surreal Stephen!

  5. Wow mate that is a great shot!!… i want some lightning shots soooo bad hahaha

    • thanks man. i know what you mean- I was like that until 5 days ago when I finally got a chance to grab some myself haha. you get to go to Karijini soon so that makes up for it πŸ™‚ lol

  6. mandy warbrook

    this is great Stephen and you know I love your work
    wonder what this blows up at the same size you did for work would you let me know I love it

  7. I’m with everyone who went “Wow!” It’s a mindboggling image.

    I said the same when I saw the length of this post too πŸ˜€

    Great stuff dude, looking forward to pictures from your next trip, which I imagine should be really soon??

    • well I had to make it a good one to make up for being quiet for so long πŸ™‚

      you’re a tough one to please though… i’ll try and get some more up soon before I go away haha

      • Aw I’m not that cruel, I can wait till after you come back. Though will be hanging out for a bumper crop of words AND pics then πŸ˜‰

        When do you leave btw?

  8. Yeah man this is awesome! must have been epic to see in person!

    • thanks Will. yeah it was amazing to watch. words can’t describe it- and this image still doesn’t come close. i’m seriously contemplating a trip up North during the wet season if this is the kind of thing they get! πŸ™‚

  9. Awesome shot mate, really really like it. We got a shot like that in Cape Leveque last year but never got a single drop of rain from it…..

    Did I tell ya I love your shot ! !

    Rod

    • haha thanks Rod. always good to get a bit of love for the images we treasure so much. it’s hard sometimes to tell if it’s just sentimental feelings towards it- or if it really is a good one

  10. @ Charlene. my trip to Karijini didn’t happen. no chance getting time off work unfortunately 😦 bbuuuttt, there may be some exciting developments on that front sometime in the future πŸ™‚ we’ll see…

    so for now it’s a week along the South Coast from Albany to Esperance, and of course stopping by the Stirling’s for a bit. head off next weekend and get back Anzac day public holiday.

  11. unbelievable mate, that has to go on the weather calendar!

    • thanks Christian, pretty wrapped about it too πŸ™‚
      glad to hear it impressed you too- wish I could say it was my skills that got it, but definitely mother nature to thank for this one haha

  12. That is a great shot, even my husband commented in saying it looked great. Well done.

  13. Yeah, it’s all been said but this but this a ripper. I got something similar about 5 years ago in the same area but I think yours might be better.

  14. this looks like a star nebula!! Great image Stephen πŸ™‚
    And kudos to you for braving the weather

  15. Tony Middleton

    Ahh yep… I must be the last to see this ! Awesome image mate and I love how the internal lightning is illuminating the cloud detail and structure. What and where is the Holland track ?

    cheers,
    tone πŸ™‚

    • haha, yeah one of the last Tony- but your here πŸ˜›
      thought this one would be in your kind of genre. when these storms were forming I was thinking of you, thinking of how you’d probably be standing there going- that storm head has just rose from 17,005 feet to 30,150feet in 2min haha.

      i’ll do a more lengthy post on the Holland track when I get back home. this was a quick post before I hit the road again. so stay tuned! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

