Canning River- Perth, Western Australia

I hadn’t managed one of these images before, or even attempted one actually. But IĀ  have always been captivated by this type of image when it was done correct.

Canning River- Perth

Into the Blue

On this occasion I headed down to Shelley with another photographer- Anton, checking out that part of the Canning River. It was the first time i’d been there, and in the end wasn’t really what i’d expected. While there though, I spied an old jetty opposite us, so we quickly headed around to check it out. Took a bit of effort on the mobile phone GPS to work out where it was and how to get in there but we got there. Anton lended me his Tokina 12-24mm lens to try out, which I now am glad to call my own šŸ™‚ But I tested it out on the jetty remnaints just as the sun was setting. The longer exposure settled the water and I also managed some nice blues.

You can view more of my Perth posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a Perth image, please visit my site

You can sign up for my New Facebook Page

11 responses to “Canning River- Perth, Western Australia

  1. Nice one mate, composition and colour are tops! I think this jetty or is it the fence in the Canning River is a reserve and heritage listed.

    • thanks Matt, was a pretty cool find. not too far from my work either so I want to check it out in some different conditions.
      no it’s not the fence, I think I know what one you mean, that’s a bit further down the river.

  2. Beautiful šŸ™‚ I really need a wide angle lens…

    • thanks Simone.
      yeah I didn’t think about it much until I actually got it. it may be more the novelty of it but it’s been used for most of my keepers since haha.
      and i’ve managed some images that I wouldn’t have got with the old kit lens- so I’m happy with the purchase.
      thanks for dropping by šŸ™‚

  3. Tony Middleton

    Sweet shot Stephen, a beautiful blend of light and motion blur.

    • thanks Tony, at first I was unsure about the composition but it really grew on me.
      I want to hit this spot with some nice storm clouds blowing over- think that’s the killer shot for this location šŸ™‚

  4. wow that’s one stunning photograph
    what kind of exposure did you use?

  5. It’s amazing what you can find in suburbia eh Stephen? Magic shot and perfect compostion. I know the shot is all about the strong foreground but geeze I reckon the background is awesome mate. Probably the best Perth shot I’ve seen in ages!

    Cheers Dave

    • Gees, thanks Davo. Pretty cool that coming from you šŸ™‚ Although you’re probably just saying that as it’s not a Boatshed, Kings Park or South Perth city shot šŸ˜› lol.
      You wouldn’t think there were any other locations in Perth if you searched it on the net haha.

      I’m glad there some nice big tree’s on the other shore as it hid the houses somewhat šŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Mirror Mirror On The Wall « Jamie Paterson Photography – Australian Landscapes Seascapes Wave and Surf Photos

Leave a Reply

