Wylie Creek Sunset- Esperance, Western Australia

This is the second image from pretty cool sunset at Wylie Creek, near Esperance. As you can see, sunlight has huge impact on sand such as this. With the previous image I posted being pure white- to this golden yellow sand. Within about 10 minutes, the sand went from beautiful white, to freakin awesome gold! πŸ™‚

Whylie Creek Sunset

Whylie Creek Sunset

This is one of the few parts of the dunes which weren’t torn up, or scattered with litter and campfires, which as I touched on in my previous post was incredibly disappointing. I was even there midweek, so the wind did have some time to cover up the evidence of the weekends activities. I probably shouldn’t go saying this otherwise i’m sure you’d imagine this image was taken in some remote area, relatively untouched.

I guess that’s why photography is such a powerful thing, as we can take the parts from a scene that we wish to remember- and until some fool blabs like me, no one would even no what else was around it πŸ™‚

Either way it’s an image i’m quite happy with, the lovely light and slight ripples were stunning. I was really drawn to the nice reeds on the slope. I passed up a close up image of them for another scene, which didn’t work out too well anyway. Perhaps not the right thing to have done, but if we got it right first time everything would be boring I reckon lol. πŸ˜›

You can view more of my South West Coast posts here

If your interested in purchasing a South West image, please visit my site

You can also sign up for my New Facebook Page here

5 responses to “Wylie Creek Sunset- Esperance, Western Australia

  1. Dune photography is all about the side light and golden light at sunset as you also state. Midday and dunes are boring, but morning and afternoon and all the lines and ripples come alive.

    Great lines and colours here but I am not too crazy about the right side of the image. Too much dark bush with no detail. Perhaps a vertical with mostly sand and less bush πŸ™‚

    • thanks Flem.
      yeah I agree about the right. I usually wouldn’t go with anything with a dark area such as this. but I found that my eye didn’t actually go that way, there was enough to keep the eye left and along the dune.

      i’ll get a dune shot you like one day. it’s my mission now πŸ™‚

  2. Hey Stephen, this is one area of Esperance I have not yet ventured. The lines and glow of the light hitting the sand is stunning. Check out my recent posts form esperance, I love the place Cheers Adrian

Leave a Reply

