Twilight Cove- Esperance

Even though Twilight Cove makes me wince at the memory of my first trip there, which after only 30min- left me with a wet camera and a headache. The headache occurred the day after anyway as I chose to live it up at the pub to try and forget my woes haha. I still love it there, it is such a beautiful place, and obviously sits very highly on the list of visitors who visit Esperance.

Twilight Pool

Twilight Pool

I’m not sure if it gets it’s name from the wonderful soft light that occurs there in the twilight hours, but anyway I reckon it’s such a fitting name. For some reason, even though spectacular at sunset- it’s after the sun goes down that the absolute beauty comes out. I found that the first time I was there, and this time it proved to be the case again.

This shot also reminds me why it’s important to scout out an area thoroughly before I start shooting the sunset. I arrived, set up and shot away for a good hour, about 20m away from this spot. It was nice, and I got some shots from it- but I don’t think any of them come close to this. The sun had well and truly gone down, and I was in basically complete darkness when I decided to climb up the rock and see if there was a nice location for the morning. I then saw this! Argghhh!! @#@*!!!! There was awesome colour in the sky directly behind this, but as I didn’t walk up the rock I missed it! Anyway in the soft light I still thought there was an opportunity, so I set up again and fired off a couple of shots.

It ended up being nearly a 2min exposure, at ISO 320 from memory- but when I saw it on the screen I was glad that I set up and gave it a go. With no harsh light the rocks were perfectly and evenly lit, and then the blue cast coming from the cooler light. It’s quite a different shot from my standard landscapes, but one I really enjoyed. I hope you do too πŸ™‚

You can view more of my South West Coast posts here

If your interested in purchasing a South West image, please visit my site

You can also sign up for my New Facebook Page here

14 responses to “Twilight Cove- Esperance

  1. Real cool…i love how the sky and the rocks come together, awesome

    http://www.motoyuk.com
    motoyuk.wordpress.com

  2. Tony Middleton

    hey Stephen, A couple of corkers these last two images mate. I love bounced/reflected light and you have scored it wonderfully here. That granite along there is perfect for sucking in those hues and giving back to us every bit of warmth and glow.
    cheers, πŸ™‚

    • thanks Tony, glad you think so πŸ™‚
      this image doesn’t look quite right squidged into the size for some reason. looks nicer at the larger size.

      the granite is wonderful as you said. it is probably the first trip i’ve ever had where I was lucky enough to get nice light for most of it πŸ™‚

  3. Gorgeous light here you captured. At least the Undecided Horizon didn’t return πŸ™‚

  4. Nice hues…very peaceful.

  5. love the light in this mate! so good!

  6. Great Esperance shots, mate I love there, so so much to capture and take in. When are heading back?

    • thanks Adrian. unfortunately I’m not able to make it back down that way anytime soon. even this trip was an unexpected bonus that i’m glad I got. but it is an amazing place with so many nice spots

  7. Wow this looks amazing! The lighting is perfect, and it’s composed well. Nice!

    Cheers,
    Lloyd

Leave a Reply

