Wylie Creek Sand dunes – Esperance

Here is another image from the Wylie Creek Dunes, that are found just near Esperance. Taken as the sun was getting lower in the sky to the West, but not at the stage they had lit up in that glorious gold light that my previous image. While the golden light really is beautiful, the whiteness of this sand still lends itself very well to photography.

Wylie Creek Sand Dune

Wylie Creek Sand Dune

This is the main dune right next to the entrance, and I trecked around the back end of it to the top. From there I had an unobstructed view down the ridge line. I liked the ripples of the immediate dune, so used them in combined with the curve of ridge.

You can view more of my South West Coast posts here

If your interested in purchasing a South West image, please visit my site

You can also sign up for my New Facebook Page here

12 responses to “Wylie Creek Sand dunes – Esperance

  1. Ah the continuing quest to produce a dune image for little me πŸ˜‰

    Good lines leading to the horizon here. It’s a tricky spot I can see, very hard to isolate the dunes without any distractions. Nice image, I might again suggest to get down lower, really low to the sand and make those ripples more dramatic πŸ™‚

    • thanks Flem, the quest continues. couple more to go, but there may be one that will get you πŸ™‚

      anddd…. do I get sympathy by being 6 foot 4/5 inches, man it’s hard getting down any lower then I have been haha.

      but this one I actually got higher then the others, to get the full sight of the ridge line curving through mid frame. otherwise it got cut off by the foreground.

      stay tuned till next time! πŸ™‚ lol

      • Annnnnddd sympathy votes are in and being counted…does not look good…not many…very few actually…I’m a bit more than 6 foot as well, lie down flat on your stomach, and eat sand, it’s the least you can do for a dune shot πŸ™‚

        I’m staying tuned…. πŸ˜€

  2. Nice one, Stephen. Really love those ripples. Would love to get down there and shoot this location myself!

  3. Tony Middleton

    Nice ripples in there Stephen – I may be a bit of an odd one out with this, but I think that I like the other shot better.

    cheers πŸ™‚

    • nah you’re not Tony- I like the previous 2 more as well haha. especially the “super dune” image, which is one of my favs from the trip πŸ™‚
      thanks for letting me know what works for you

  4. haha, it was worth a shot Flem.
    you’re a Flembot, a machine!
    i’m an injury riddled attempt of an athlete- out of my league I think! hahaha πŸ™‚

    i’ll get ya one day when you least suspect it πŸ™‚ lol

  5. Hi Stephen,

    Great photo mate. I definitely would like to head out to that part of the world.

    Jamie

Leave a Reply

