Newman Gold!

Hello again to you all from Newman! This time i’ll go into a bit more depth haha.

Pilbara Screen Saver

As those of you who have been following the blog, i’ve made a big jump, i’ve gone and moved to Newman. Quite a big jump as i’ve not even been here before, only know a handful of people, gone to a job quite different from what I was doing in Perth and sacrificed a number of things from my normal living in Perth.

But it’s all for the future, for starters I have the Pilbara at my doorstep, well not at- it IS my doorstep! I’ve only been to the Pilbara once, a couple of years ago. Loved it immensely and eagerly awaited my return. I never thought it’d be this way however haha. So every chance I get i’ll be heading out on photography trips. I also intend on participating in the 365 project.

For those of you who don’t know- it involves taking a diferent image each day for a year. What better place to try that challenge then the Pilbara! I may not quite be exact with the taking an image a day, but I plan on posting one for each day of the period, starting probably in a month after i’ve settled in and got a few locations sussed out. I will try and limit myself to 2 or 3 images posted from one day however. Not entirely sure how i’m gona do it yet.

Secondly it’s a great opportunity to pay off a heap extra off my house, really knock it off, helping me out down the track.

So with that, I have scenes like this all around me. You will be sick of hearing about my love of white gums, probably by next week haha. And this scene got me with the white gums. The light came in spot on time, everyday you get light like this, it’s really amazing to see it transform the land. Anyway to celebrate me being here- this image is a full 1280pix screen saver/desktop image. if you open it up and save the image you can have a part of the Pilbara with you on your PC. I hope you enjoy it.

Stephen

You can view more of my Karijini posts here

If you’re interested in purchasing a Karijini image please visit my site

If you’ve not done so already, don’t forget to sign up for my Facebook Fanpage. Here you will receive all the latest news and images, as well as partake in competitions.

12 responses to “Newman Gold!

  1. An image a day, my goodness, it’s a good thing I type fast…all those comments I have to prepare for. Seems I have my own 365 project! Will have to nick Mark’s iphone on True North to not fall behind!

    These are exciting times for you Stephen, look forward to following your Pilbara adventure. A new horizon, new inputs always brings exciting new things into ones life. Some good, some bad, but will be a brilliant adventure for you.

    You did well right out of the gate! This is classic Pilbara, I too love the Pilbara so much, perhaps more than The Kimberley. You got the light and composition just right here! Beside the gorgeous white gum, the deep red radiant passionate red soil and the blue sky that spinnifex grass is something else when it is lit up like gold by the setting sun. Dusk light is also so nice in the Pilbara. A classic Pilbara shot.

    Now, one thing I must mention. I feel in these type of shots that it is so important if possible to isolate the one main subject. Here, you really need to step about 20cm to the left so you “release” that tree in the background from the main tree. In 2D we suddenly notice this and it’s so important to look through the camera and move slowly untill all elements fall into place.

    I will get you to do some stitched panos up there, you must, the Pilbara cries out for it, to display all that lovely Wide Open Space!

    • hehe, i knew i needed to make note in there for you not to point that out πŸ˜›
      i noticed the error of my ways, and revisited the location the next day, exact same conditions- but to “remove” the 2 tree’s from each other. didn’t quite work out as i wanted, and the image just felt unbalanced for some reason.
      i will be back here to nail the image tho- i just wanted to post something, and this was too nice to hold off haha.

      yes i will try and keep you very busy mate! i expect your usual critiquing of course πŸ™‚ i’m here to improve. you may get me shooting some stitched pano’s, but i have nothing to stitch them with haha. software is one thing (well and equipment) i’ve not been tempted into spending money on as it is essentially a trip away for me. over the next year I hope to have a little cash to splurge on a new 24-70 (ish) lens, and possibly a couple of other goodies.
      seeing as tho i’m living in a holiday location I won’t need that cash to head away πŸ˜€ makes sense to me anyway!

      and i totally know what you mean about the change, and what it brings. basically i’m here on a mission, i’ve sacrificed alot to be here, and i’m damn well gona make sure I get what I want out of my stay here. so far it’s been amazing- and it’s only been 5 days!

  2. Ahhh loving that spinifexly, white-gummy goodness.

    (ok the latter sounded a bit wrong, but you get my meaning)

    And of course, the big blue sky πŸ™‚

    I might come and pay you a visit in some months while passing by. Be warned πŸ™‚

    • sheesh Charlene… don’t go saying gummy around me after i’ve been up here for a few weeks. it may be too much to handle and i’ll faint haha

      if you’re up here let me know! a trip into Rudall River would be a nice weekend or so….. hint hint πŸ˜›

  3. Wow big move. Enjoy the North, it is beautiful up there. Look forward to seeing more Pilbara images from you πŸ™‚

  4. Best of luck with the life transition and move Stephen – good on you I say !
    all the best,
    t πŸ™‚

  5. Best of luck with the move. This image is stunning by the way. The warm light and the grasses, lovely image Cheers adrian

    • Thanks Adrian, very exciting it is πŸ™‚
      Glad you like the shot, bit more tweaking required compositionally before i’m totally happy. But that’s easy with this being 5min away lol.

Leave a Reply

